MDN wants to talk to developers like you:

Understanding the Web Content Accessibility Guidelines

This page is not complete.

This set of articles provides quick explanations to help you understand the steps that need to be taken to conform to the recommendations outlined in the W3C Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0 (WCAG 2.0 or just WCAG, for the purposes of this writing).

The WCAG 2.0 provides a detailed set of guidelines for making web content more accessible to people with a wide variety of disabilities. It is comprehensive, but incredibly detailed, and quite difficult to gain a rapid understanding of. For this reason, we have summarised the practical steps you need to take to satisfy the different recommendations, with further links to more details where required.

The four principles

WCAG is broadly broken down into four principles — major things that web content must be to be considered accessible (see Understanding the Four Principles of Accessibility for the WCAG definitions).

Each of the links below will take you to pages that further expand on these areas, giving you practical advice on how to write your web content content so it conforms to the success criteria outlined in each of the WCAG 2.0 guidelines that further sub-divides each principle.

  • Perceivable: Users must be able to perceive it in some way, using one or more of their senses.
  • Operable: Users must be able to control UI elements (e.g. buttons must be clickable in some way — mouse, keyboard, voice command, etc.).
  • Understandable: The content must be understandable to its users.
  • Robust: The content must be developed using well-adopted web standards that will work across different browsers, now and in the future.

How to use this guide


Not legal advice, IANAL, etc.


Document Tags and Contributors

 Contributors to this page: chrisdavidmills, SherrieQuinn
 Last updated by: chrisdavidmills,